View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:40 am

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Is Joe Philbin overprotecting Tannehill? 
2014 Phinfever VIP!
2014 Phinfever VIP!

Post Is Joe Philbin overprotecting Tannehill?
Quote:
By James Walker | ESPN.com

DAVIE, Fla. -- A day later, I'm still trying to decode a statement from Miami Dolphins head coach Joe Philbin regarding starting quarterback Ryan Tannehill. ...
Philbin was asked by Miami Herald reporter Armando Salguero Tuesday about Tannehill's inability to take over games. ...
Here was Philbin's response:

“Football is still a team game as far as I am concerned. I have never been around anybody that one person that can carry a football team. It takes 11 guys on offense, 11 guys on defense, 11 guys on special teams. I think [Tannehill] has had some very, very good games here, I anticipate that he will continue to do so. I have been coaching for 30 years, I have never seen one player win a game on his own.”

Philbin was then pressed by Salguero, who followed up by asking if Aaron Rodgers took over games when Philbin was offense coordinator with the Green Bay Packers?

“Not necessarily,” Philbin responded. ...

http://espn.go.com/blog/afceast/post/_/ ... -tannehill

Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:47 pm
Phinfever Legend
Phinfever Legend

Post Re: Is Joe Philbin overprotecting Tannehill?
They're definitely over-protecting him. The question is whether it's because they're micro-managing too hard or because of Tanny's limitations.

Btw, Philbin is out of his mind if he's never seen a player take over a game before.

Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:53 pm
Phinfever Blog Writer
Phinfever Blog Writer

He is not suited for the position

Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:14 pm
Phinfever Lead Moderator
Phinfever Lead Moderator

I have never seen one player win a game on his own.”

Did he watch the Pats Broncos game? Did he watch Cam Newton on sunday on that last drive?

Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:46 pm
Phinfever Blog Writer - Thursdays